top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

REVIEW- The Silver Witch


Photo Credit: Kaylan Dula

"A sensitive, beautifully written account...If the Bronte sisters had penned magical realism, this would have been the result." -The Guardian (UK)

Need I say more? Probably not, but I will anyways.

Paula Brackston has become an author that I am now following, after adding all of her "witch novels" to my TBR list. This fantasy novel takes place in a mountainside village in Wales during both the Dark Ages and present day in a narrative told in alternating perspectives.

Tilda Fordwells, our present-day protagonist, has recently moved to the village after losing her husband in a vaguely described accident. Upon arriving, she discovers odd things happening around her. Given the recent life changes she has experienced, she dismisses anything out of the ordinary and attempts to continue her routine life as a ceramic artist.

After meeting one eclectic character (her neighbor-turned-mentor), Tilda begins to uncover why these weird things are happening to her, and why this magical village is very much something from a story book. While uncovering her lineage and diving into the past, Tilda finds herself surprised to discover the "oldest, simplest magic" is also waiting for her here in the village. This magic is not only in the air, but also within the completely human people she encounters.

Brackston writes so clearly with great visual imagery and description that you feel like you are in this magical world linked with ancient Celtic symbolism, and children of the moonlight. The only thing I could ask from Brackston (other than for a sequel!) is to incorporate more character development and character interaction. The fantastical elements are so on point that I feel like some scenes involving human characters could have been made much more intimate.

I rated this book a 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads and cannot wait to read all of Brackston's other novels! Had the character development been there, this would have been an easy 5/5!

I hope you all enjoyed this short review... I'm trying to get into the swing of putting my thoughts down on paper and figuring out how to express my opinions on the thing I'm always immersed in--stories! Feel free to follow me on GoodReads and Twitter for more reviews & other bookish posts!

Until next time, Happy Reading!


bottom of page