top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Comparison Can Destroy You


Photo Credit: Kaylan Dula

I wanted to do something a little bit different for todays blog and talk about comparison.

With social media as popular as it's ever been, how can you not compare your selfie to the next persons, compare the amount of Twitter followers they have (shameless plug), or be jealous of how a persons Instagram theme is perfection. I fell into this social media spiral this past weekend, and let me just say: It sucked.

Sure, everyone knows that comparison exists and that feeling inadequate is oftentimes the easiest way to feel. But the inadequacy I felt this weeked was so overwhelmingly powerful that I had to say something.

That something is this: Don't indulge the insecurities.

Even as I'm typing I'm also temped by the urge to check my Instagram. This is where my problem began. I went searching for the account of someone who I already feel inferior to (mistake #1). I found out we had things in common, so not only did I feel outshined, but she is far more beautiful and more talented than I formerly thought. On top of that, her Instagram likes were 8x my count, AND my friends were busy drooling over her good looks.

So, what did I do?

1) Do something that makes you feel beautiful.

-I put on a full face of makeup.

2) Let people know you're good enough (fake it 'til you make it) and they will start reminding you that you are, in fact, good enough.

-I took tons of photos, edited them to the best of my ability, and delivered a killer IG photo (pictured above).

3) Work towards a healthy goal.

-Goal in progress...

The point of me sharing my experience is to say that you are good enough. In at least one way, you are amazing. But in all probability you are amazing in many ways. Was I feeling like a waste of space this weekend? Absolutely. Am I feeling like this today? Absolutely not.

Seeing how amazing the person I referred to was reminded me that I have my own strong points. I don't have to look the same or have the same style as her to be as good as her. To be as significant of a person as she is. I can eat better, go to the gym (every once in a while, let's not push it), and work towards any and all goals I have for mysef.

Because I'm worth it.

And so are you.

Comparison can destroy you and who you're meant to be if you let it consume you. Letting a tiny bit in is ok, if instead of letting it consume you you allow it to help you grow.

Thanks for letting me share a personal message this week.

Next blog is all about the books, don't you worry!

Until next time, remember to love yourself.

Currently Reading: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff


bottom of page