top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

George is a Girl's Name, Too

“Be Who You Are.”

Photo Credit: Kaylan Dula

Alex Gino nailed it. George is a wonderful narration about a child realizing that she is special, while she is also realizing that “special” isn’t something many people know how to deal with.

Centered around a 4th grade girl, George has an interesting quality about herself: she is living in a boy’s body. This book looks at transgender ideas from a child’s point of view and this is so awesome.

Earlier this week I posted about this book on my personal Facebook account, which received mostly positive responses. I say mostly because I got a pretty confused text message from my mom a day after the post.

My mom asked why I was posting such things, and warned that I should consider toning it down, because posting content like that made it look like I have “issues”. I responded by telling her that this conversation is exactly why I made the post. Young kids need to see that it’s OK to BE WHO YOU ARE. How will the kids learn this when parents deem books like George inappropriate?

Speaking of inappropriate books, last week concluded Banned Books Week, which lasted from September 27 until October 3. George has yet to be added to the list of banned books, which hopefully doesn’t change.

For more information about Alex Gino, click his name anywhere it appears in this post.

Currently Reading: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Until next time, Happy Reading!

bottom of page