top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Audiobooks: My Thoughts & Tips


Photo Credit: Kaylan Dula

So after saying that I was back after a "brief pause" from blogging... well, I'm back. Again.

Recently I have been inspired by so many new-to-me booktubers (book YouTubers) who have reawakened my excitement for reading all over again! This shift in perspective opened me up to lots of new possibilities and wow, do I have some things to say.

I want to start off by saying that I originally HATED audiobooks. Emphasis on "hate".

People often talked about how great audiobooks were whenever you were trying to do other things, which sounded legitimate enough. I could understand their value and appeal in long car rides, but outside of that scenario, when the heck do people listen to them?!

People mentioned listening:

-in the car

-while cleaning

-before bed

-on train/bus rides

-on work/school breaks

-while walking/running

If you're still wondering why exactly I hated audiobooks, it is because I absolutely SUCK at multi-tasking. There, I said it. A 24 year old in the 21st century who has trouble multi-tasking. (Yes, it's actually a thing.)

I typically spend the first 10 pages [reading a physical book] focussing very hard on actually reading. No, I don't have a short attention span, but I do have the awful habit of reading without absorbing any of the story. "How", I thought, "am I supposed to listen to a book while doing other things when I can't even pay attention while I am ONLY reading?"

Some tips I have learned along the way:

1. I have found that the best time to start an audiobook is before bed. (I am a night owl and function much better at night; if you are a morning bird your best bet is listening in the morning.) There are many instances where I want to read, but tired eyes get the best of me. I'm not at the point where I'm ready for sleep, so I'll pop my ear buds in and listen for a while. The Audible app even has a sleep timer setting!

2. Do NOT start a new audiobook while multi-tasking. Let yourself warm up to the book (the narration, writing style, and general feel) before accomplishing other tasks. If you have no problem paying attention, however, then by all means feel free to multi-task!

3. Research. If you are looking for books that are known specifically as being great audiobooks, look into it! YouTube, Audible, and Amazon are some great places to find reviews. A book may be amazing, but the audiobook may not quite be at the same level. Just because it's a good story doesn't mean that it will translate well into spoken narrative.

4. Start out with a popular audiobook that interests you. With Audible, your first download is completely free! So if you find that you don't like an audiobook that's not only popular, but also tells a story you would typically find interesting, then it's safe to say that audiobooks probably aren't for you.

5. If you are an introvert like me, audiobooks help to get reading done in public settings. Some introverts have no problem reading in public, but others of us have trouble concentrating when other peoples' energies are all around us. Crank up the audiobook of your choice (preferably with headphones plugged in to avoid stares) and tune everyone else out!

Audiobooks have really helped me increase the number of books I am able to read each month, so hopefully you will find my tips helpful if you currently are in a love/hate (without the love) relationship with audiobooks!

Until next time, Happy Reading!

bottom of page