top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Put it in Overdrive


Photo Credit: Kaylan Dula

Pictured Above: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and The Diviners by Libba Bray

from Belk Library

Transferring in to Appalachian State University as a Junior (with my Associate degree under my belt), I walked onto campus with no knowledge of anything university-related. I was basically a Freshman. Now I am in my last semester of college, and I am STILL discovering things that I never knew because of what I’m assuming has to do with my non-traditional freshman and sophomore years.

One of the hidden gems of knowledge I stumbled upon was that you can read books—for free!

You’re probably thinking Duh. Universities have libraries. I was, believe it or not, informed of that despite my college time cut short, thank you. I knew that the library contained tons of history books, encyclopedias, and basically books whose sole purpose was to help students write papers. I didn’t realize that popular, recently released books were sitting among the books that haven’t been opened since… when as Appalachian founded?

The cherry on top of the sundae was when I found out about Overdrive.

Overdrive, to me, is the equivalent to a candy shop. You can access thousands of books to rent with a few clicks of your mouse. I’m wishing I had a time machine so I could go back to my Freshman (Junior) year and start reading then!

Unfortunately, I don’t live in the world created by J.K. Rowling, and time turners aren’t an option here. However, I’m telling you guys about it so you can start reading early (if reading is something you enjoy doing). If you’ve stumbled upon this and you’re not a student at Appalachian, no worries. Overdrive can connect with hundreds of libraries across the nation. As long as you have a valid library card or student ID, then you’re good to go!

I hope this post was somewhat helpful. Or maybe everyone already knew about Overdrive...

Either way, I'm going to go cuddle up, listen to the rain, light a fall-scented candle, and start a new book (courtesy of, believe it or not, Overdrive).

Until next time, Happy (Overdrive) Reading!

Check out my Overdrive bookshelf on Goodreads here

Currently Reading: Saga Volume I

bottom of page